Weekend Edition on KAZU http://kazu.org en A Mother's Essay Challenges Assumptions About Poverty http://kazu.org/post/mothers-essay-challenges-assumptions-about-poverty The stereotype of the so-called welfare queen driving a luxury car while leaching off of society is an enduring one.<p>Darlena Cunha takes on this idea <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2014/07/08/this-is-what-happened-when-i-drove-my-mercedes-to-pick-up-food-stamps/">in a personal essay</a> published Tuesday by <em>The Washington Post</em>. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 44757 at http://kazu.org A Mother's Essay Challenges Assumptions About Poverty Searching For Stress Relief? Try Feeling Your Breath http://kazu.org/post/searching-stress-relief-try-feeling-your-breath Many Americans are swamped with stress, but there may be ways to ease the tension without changing the circumstances.<p>Almost half of all adults say they've experienced a major stressful event in the past year, according to a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/07/07/327322187/stressed-out-americans-tell-us-about-stress-in-their-lives">poll</a> conducted by NPR, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Harvard School of Public Health.<p>Meditation can help people cope, says author Sharon Salzberg, co-founder of the Insight Meditation Society in Barre, Mass.<p>Salzberg teaches "min Sat, 12 Jul 2014 14:10:00 +0000 NPR Staff 44756 at http://kazu.org Searching For Stress Relief? Try Feeling Your Breath Brooklyn DA Shifts Stance On Pot, But That Won't Impact NYPD http://kazu.org/post/brooklyn-da-shifts-stance-pot-wont-impact-nypd Marijuana enthusiasts should still think twice before lighting up in the streets of Brooklyn.<p>The borough's district attorney announced this week that he'll no longer prosecute most low-level marijuana possession cases. But not all law enforcement officials in New York City are on board. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 13:25:00 +0000 Joel Rose 44754 at http://kazu.org Brooklyn DA Shifts Stance On Pot, But That Won't Impact NYPD Financial Scandals Tarnish Spanish Soccer Glory http://kazu.org/post/financial-scandals-tarnish-spanish-soccer-glory Many of the biggest stars in global soccer — Neymar, Messi, Ronaldo — play the regular season with club teams in Spain. Their marquee names have helped their Spanish teams get filthy rich. Real Madrid and FC Barcelona top <em>Forbes</em> magazine's list of<a href="http://www.realmadrid.com/en/news/2014/05/forbes-names-real-madrid-as-the-most-valuable-sports-club-in-the-world-for-the-second-year-running"> the world's richest sports franchises</a>. You have to scroll down to No. 4 to find the New York Yankees, and NFL teams below that.<p>This, in a country with roughly one-sixth of the U.S. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 12:08:00 +0000 editor 44748 at http://kazu.org Financial Scandals Tarnish Spanish Soccer Glory Cavaliers Fans Can Finally Make Peace WIth Their Old LeBron Jerseys http://kazu.org/post/cavalier-fans-can-finally-make-peace-their-old-lebron-jerseys From the basketball court to the soccer pitch, ESPN's Howard Bryant and NPR's Tamara Keith catch up on the latest news in sports. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 12:08:00 +0000 editor 44752 at http://kazu.org